Get in touch

Contact Details

Yardley Primary School

Enabling children to reach their full potential



Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Statement of Governance arrangements:


On March 1st 2017 Roger Ascham joined together with Yardley Primary School to form a multi-academy trust. RAY Multi-Academy Trust came about from the existing partnership between both schools who have worked together for over a decade. Both schools will work together to support school development and to improve outcomes for pupils – they retain their individual school budgets, staffing structures, identities and culture.


Each school retains its own Local Governing Body that supports the Headteacher and the new Board of Trustees. The trustees (whose responsibilities are similar to those of directors of a company) are all current governors of either Roger Ascham or Yardley schools. The trustees are formally appointed by and report annually to the Board of Members. Members are similar to shareholders of a company.


RAY MAT Members: determine the trust’s constitution and oversee the work of the trustees

Leigh Sandford

Chris Henderson

Rachel Johnson

Marcus Keane


RAY MAT Trustees: determine strategic vision and the trust’s overarching strategic plan; provide challenge and support to senior leaders; facilitate collaboration; ensure financial probity and risk management

Robert Carey

Caroline Edwards        Chair of Trustees

Matthew Hanks           CEO and Accounting Officer

Chris Henderson

Gregory Talbot

Marcus Keane            

Sarah Smith         Company Secretary


Matthew Hanks is the Trust’s Accounting Officer. He has no business or pecuniary interests other than his employment at Roger Ascham School.


The Yardley local governing body. Members of Local Governing Body: ensure implementation of strategic vision; support the trustees and the school’s senior leadership team; maintain individual school’s ethos.


Shainie Ayab           Chair

Chris Henderson     Vice Chair              

Andy Baldock

Salima Nanji

Glen Reddick               Staff governor

Sue Emerson                Staff governor


Company Secretary and Clerk to the Governing Body: Joan Easton


Shaine Ayub, the Chair of Governors, can be contacted through the school office.




Yardley Academy Annual Accounts (Please note that future accounts will be filed under the Ray Academy trust)